Exhibitions    GLASSTRESS: Window to the Future

11.09.21 to 30.10.21

GLASSTRESS: Window to the Future


Penny Byrne's work Hurt Locker (2015) is one of the glass artworks featuring in the exhibition.




The State Hermitage Museum, St Petersburg, Russia


Glasstress. Window to the Future is one of the museum’s largest exhibitions of contemporary art, occupying more than ten halls, including the monumental expanse of the Grand Enfilade and White Hall, as well as the intimate spaces of the Courtyard Gallery and the Red Halls in the General Staff Building.

It features more than 50 works created in glass by contemporary artists and the participants include award-winning figures such as Ai Weiwei, Renate Bertlmann, Koen Vanmechelen, Michael Joo, Petah Coyne, Mat Collishaw, and Laure Prouvost. Of particular interest are the pieces produced by Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, the Chapman Brothers, Jaume Plensa and Hans Op de Beeck, artists whose works have already been shown with great success in exhibitions at the Hermitage. The wide range of international artists will allow visitors to discover how the traditional glass techniques of Murano have been integrated into the world of contemporary art, and how glass as a medium continues to surprise and revolutionise artistic thinking.


Curated by Dimitri Ozerkov, Curator of Contemporary Art, The State Hermitage Museum




Ai Weiwei, Erda─č Aksel, Polly Apfelbaum, Charles Avery, Miroslaw Balka, Fiona Banner, Renate Bertlmann, Monica Bonvicini, Penny Byrne, Loris Cecchini, César, Jake & Dinos Chapman, Mat Collishaw, Petah Coyne, Tony Cragg, Jimmie Durham, Jan Fabre, Josepha Gasch-Muche, Kendell Geers, Abdulnasser Gharem, Michael Joo, Ilya & Emilia Kabakov, Marya Kazoun, Karen Lamonte, Vik Muniz, Hans Op De Beeck, Tony Oursler, Mimmo Paladino, Cornelia Parker, Anne Peabody, Jaume Plensa, Laure Prouvost, Qiu Zhijie, Antonio Riello, Sean Scully, Wael Shawky, Sudarshan Shetty, Song Dong, Lino Tagliapietra, Tim Tate, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Kaneuji Teppei, Gavin Turk, Koen Vanmechelen, Joana Vasconcelos, Fred Wilson, Wu Jian’an, Erwin Wurm, Yin Xiuzhen


Back to Top